Worcester’s swimmers continued their excellent start to 2014 with another strong performance in Round 2 of the Worcestershire Winter League. ¬†Despite 22 swimmers being unavailable for selection due to Half Term holidays etc, the “A” team proved comfortable winners at Bromsgrove whilst the “B” team finished 2nd in a close fought gala at Droitwich.

The “B” team probably faced the biggest challenge but the swimmers performed brilliantly, winning 9 of the 40 events against “A” team opposition.

In the 11’s, Emily Caldwell showed real promise with a splendid 1st place in the 50m Breaststroke whilst team mate Grace Dieppe showed great determination to win a finger tip finish in the 50m Freestyle.

In the 13’s, Ellie McGiness smashed her PB to win the 100m Backstroke whilst Amy Owens and Freya Lines swam beautifully to win their Butterfly and Freestyle races. The boys were not to be out done though… Jack Raine and James Clews were both in top form, winning their 100’s Backstroke & Breaststroke very nicely.

Wins for the older swimmers proved a bit harder to come by…with only Toby Elston (15/u 100m Butterfly) and Mike Adair (Open 100m Backstroke) finishing 1st…though the 2nd places from Caitlin Adair (1.21.6 in the 15’s 100m Breaststroke) and Adam McIntyre (56.6 in the Open 100m Freestyle) warranted recognition.

The final result was: Orion 214, Worcester “B” 188, Droitwich 183, Perry Beeches 127.

Over at Bromsgrove, the “A” team enjoyed a successful evening, winning pretty easily with 197 points… well ahead of Pershore 160, Halesowen “B” 150, Redditch “B” 140 and Haden Hill 133.

Here the older swimmers excelled with National swimmers Tabby Monkhouse and Alice O’Tool both grabbing a brace of victories in the Ladies open events… as did Olivia Fletcher (11’s 50m Butterfly and Freestyle) and Sophie Groves (15’s 100m Butterfly and Backstroke).

However, it was the 13/u Girls who stole the show, enjoying a clean sweep of 1st places… Yasemin Tayar, Alice Hayden Jones, Daisy Ellis and Hattie Goff winning the 100m Backstroke, Breaststroke, Butterfly & Freestyle events respectively.

There were also individual wins for Samantha Gearey & William Hadley (Girls & Boys 15’s 100m Freestyle) plus Anthony Redfern (Open 100m Backstroke), the “A” team winning in total half of all the events.