Worcester’s swimmers put in another sterling performance on Saturday 21st February to secure “A” Final places in the Worcestershire Winter League for both the Club’s “A” & “B” teams.

With the top 2 teams in each round 2 gala guaranteed a place in the “A” Final, Worcester made the short trip to Droitwich to face Halesowen, Droitwich and Stourbridge “B” where the “A” team proved comfortable winners with the “B” team just edging out Halesowen for that invaluable 2nd spot.

The final points were Worcester “A” 205, Worcester “B” 176, Halesowen 173, Droitwich 126, Stourbridge “B” 118… with overall, Worcester winning 30 of the 40 races.

Encouragingly, stars of the show were the 11 & under swiimer who enjoyed a clean sweep! Georgia Hill and Isaac Shepherd both bagged brace of first places in the 50m Freestyle and Butterfly, whilst Izzy Trow and Daniel Day (Backstroke) and Sophie Pettit and George Glover (Breaststroke) were also easy winners… before combining successfully to win both the mixed Medley & Freestyle Relays.

In the 13/u age group, Jenny Gearey won the 100m Backstroke in a very impressive 1.11.9 whilst Matthew Richards and Kai Gooden-Morris proved unstoppable, winning both their Butterfly/Freestyle and Backstroke/Breaststroke events respectively… albeit Aaron Cook’s 2nd place in the Butterfly in 1.14.6 also caught the eye.

There was success for the older swimmers too.  In the 15/u’s, Emily Stancer (Freestyle), Hattie Goff (Backstroke), Ben Holmes (Backstroke), Sam Hall (Breaststroke) all earned important first places for their team whilst in the Open Age group, there were key victories for Megan Willetts (Bacsktroke), Sophie Groves (Butterfly), Mike Adair (Backstroke), James Marsh (Breaststroke) and Anthony Redfern (Freestyle)… though the performances of Lucy Clayton to win both the 15/u and Open 100m Breaststroke races in 1.16.8 and 1.17.3 really stood out.

Above all else, though, this was a team performance with every single swimmer contributing fully… and the Club will now look forward to a Final in April against the powerful Redditch and Stourbridge “A” teams, plus probably Halesowen as the best 3rd placed team.

The full squad was: Izzy Trow, Sophie Pettit, Georgia Hill, Becky Yates, Jenny Latta, Megan Bury, Aimee Monks, Amy Owens, Leyla Tayar, Lauren Freestone, Jenny Gearey, Sophie Davis, Charlotte Hall, Olivia Fletcher, Hattie Goff, Lucy Clayton, Yasemin Tayar, Emily Stancer, Ellie McGinnes, Charlotte Yates, Rebecca Redfern, Megan Willetts, Samantha Gearey, Francesca Daniels, Sophie Groves, Emma Lovesey. Isaac Shepherd, George Glover, Daniel Day, Max Rice, Daniel Kearley, Charles Pillman, Sam Clayton, Kai Gooden-Morris, Aaron Cook, Matthew Richards, Adam Smith, Sam Hartley, Sam Hall, Ben Holmes, Alex Hughes, Oscar van Vuren, Robert Latta, James Marsh, Mike Adair, Robin Williams, Anthony Redfern, William Hadley and Matthew Redfern.