Worcester’s swimmers put in a sterling performance on Sunday 19th April to retain the Worcestershire Winter League title that they won in 2014.

In what is normally a very tight contest, Worcester proved convincing winners… their margin of victory an impressive 38 points over their local rivals.

The final scores were Worcester “A” 208, Redditch 170, Stourbridge 169, Halesowen 145, Worcester “B” 102.

Whilst the “B” team could only finish 5th, it had been a tremendous effort from them to qualify for the Final – the only “B” team there, ahead of many other Club’s “A” teams…and whilst points were hard to come by, every swimmer performed brilliantly with 11-year olds Louis Doyle (1st 50m Freestyle) and Max Rice (2nd 50m Breaststroke) really catching the eye.

The “A” team swimmers though really stole the show, winning 18 of the 40 events, including all 8 relays, proof positive of the strength in depth at the Club at the moment.

Individual winners included Izzy Trow (11/u 50m Backstroke), Daniel Day (11/u 50m Backstroke), Matthew Richards (13/u 100m Butterfly), Kai Gooden-Morris (13/u 100m Backstroke), Lucy Clayton (15/u and Open 100M Breaststroke), Sam Hall (15/u 100m Butterfly and Breaststroke), Oscar Brain (15/u 100m Backstroke) and Tazmin Pugh (Open 100m Butterfly).

However, above all, this was a real team effort and every single swimmer contributed fully to the success.

The full squad was: Izzy Trow, Sophie Pettit, Georgia Hill, Becky Yates, Jenny Latta, Megan Bury, Aimee Monks, Amy Owens, Leyla Tayar, Lauren Freestone, Jenny Gearey, Sophie Davis, Charlotte Hall, Olivia Fletcher, Hattie Goff, Lucy Clayton, Yasemin Tayar, Emily Stancer, Ellie McGinnes, Charlotte Yates, Rebecca Redfern, Tazmin Pugh, India Fern, Megan Willetts, Samantha Gearey, Caitlin Adair, Sophie Groves, Emma Lovesey, Eloise van Vuren, Lizzie Bentley, Isaac Shepherd, George Glover, Daniel Day, Tom Cox, Max Rice, Daniel Kearley, Louis Doyle, Sam Clayton, Kai Gooden-Morris, Aaron Cook, Matthew Richards, Adam Smith, Sam Hartley, Sam Hall, Ben Holmes, Alex Hughes, Oscar van Vuren,Toby Elston, Oscar Brain, Harry Bamforth, James Marsh, Mike Adair, Robin Williams, Anthony Redfern, Rupert Monkhouse, William Hadley, Glenn Strachan and Matthew Redfern.