Worcester Swimming Club continued its dominance of the Winter League at the final in Droitwich. With all three Worcester Swimming Club teams competing the “A” team were comfortable winners for the fifth year in a row and the “B” team finished ahead of Halesowen and only marginally behind Pershore. Worcester came first in 15 of the 40 races. The final result was Worcester “A”, 202 points, Redditch 170, Pershore 145, Worcester “B” 129, Halesowen 121 and Worcester “C” 71 points.

Swims of note included two “B” team swimmers coming first in their competitions: Sam Hartley in the Boy’s 15/U 100m breaststroke with a time of 1m, 15.76s; and Louis Doyle in the Boy’s 15/U 100m backstroke with a time of 1m, 1.56s and in this race Worcester came 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

There were also great swims by Amelia Gearey in the girls’ 13/U 100m butterfly (1m 15.77s); Adam Rutter, boy’s 13/U 100m butterfly (1m 10.96s) ; Jakob Baker, boy’s open 100m freestyle (55.40s) and William Thomas in the boys 11/U 50m breaststroke (43.32s).

The full teams were:

(“A” Team):  Michael Agoston, David Annis, Lauren Annis, Megan Annis,  Josie Armstrong, Heather Castle,Harry Chandler, Lucy Clayton, Aaron Cook, Eddie Cox, Daniel Day, Olivia Eggleton, Olivia Fletcher, Amelie Forsyth-Ball, Amelie Fox-Haskins, Jennifer Gearey, William Gearey, George Glover, Henry Halford, Charlotte Hall, Sam Hall, Bryony Lowe, Aimee Monks, William Pridden, Matthew Thomas, Beau Vaughan-Hawkins, Robin Williams and Holly Workman.

(“B” Team) : Jakob Baker, Megan Bury, Grace Ciancio, Lydia Cooper, Sophie Davis, Hannah Dixon, Natasha Dobson, Louis Doyle, Grace Earp, Amelia Gearey, Ben Gooch, Ellie Harle,  Sam Hartley,  Milly Hemming, Lauren Hill, Harvey Lloyd, Emma McKay, Sophie Pettit, Becky Redfern, Matthew Redfern, Milo Reed, Evan Rogers, Adam Rutter, Harry Ryder, Jack Sweeney, Yasemin Tayer, William Thomas, Brodie Willetts and Becky Yates.

(“C” Team): Caitlin Adair, Evan Beale, Emily Clacher, Amy Cooper, Kieran Cooper, Alexander Cutler Tucker, Oliver Dieppe, Charlie Dixon, Jess Dobson, Alex Farmer, Baeli Fern, Maddie Fox-Haskins, Kai Gooden-Morris, Libby Gooden-Morris, Alex Hughes, Daniel Kearley, Robert Latta, Ciara Mahanta, Ruby Norgrove, Grace Ryder, Isaac Shepherd, Leyla Tayar, Iszzy Trow, Carmen West, Emily West and Charlotte Yates.